Daguerrotype

Daguerrotype Attempt

I recently ranted on Twitter that Photoshop has gotten out of the reach of the amateur photographer. I recieved a few suggestions including Photoshop Elements and a program I had not heard of yet. Jenn of The Artist’s Eyes said GIMP is like Photoshop but it is open source (that means free). I downloaded GIMP and I am trying to test it out. This photo is supposed to look like a Daguerrotype. I hope it looks close. GIMP is similar to Photoshop with a minor learning curve (I had a hard time figuring out how to freehand scale a layer). I like it so far, and I will add more test images as I process them.

One response

  1. EverRose

    I also like Paint.NET. It may be geared more towards drawing, then photo manipulation though.

    22 January 10 at 16:30

Leave a Reply

