Opened in 1929, the Grove Arcade was a dream of Dr. Edwin Riley Grove, the owner of the Battery Park hotel which can bee seen in the photo below just behind the Arcade. Grove wanted to bring a shopping market to downtown Asheville, believing the a city needed a vibrant downtown area.
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Arcade now has shops on the first floor, business offices on the second. The floors above the second are locked out, unless you have a key card.
The Biltmore Estate, Located in Asheville, NC was the home of the Vanderbilt family from 1895-1930. The family opened the estate to the public in 1930 and has remained on the top places to visit since. No photography is allowed in the house, but more than 8,000 acres are open to explore on the grounds.
The house sits on a hill and it is hard to find any signs of the outside world as far as you can see. This image is looking off to the Southwest.
This path, leads to the garden areas, which will be featured in a separate blog post.
The sugar plantation once owned by David Levy Yulee supplied sugar and molasses to the Southern Troops in the Civil War. All that remains now is the mill where they made raw sugar from the canes. Now the site is on the National Historic Landmarks Registry and is Florida State Park.
A store front in Louisville’s Butchertown neighborhood.
This structure is directly across Bank Street from the Carnegie Center for Arts & History. The door labled 409 is the office of Richard R. Fox Attorney. The building is marked as a New Albany Historic Landmark.
This is the door and Gas Lantern just out of sight (Camera Right) in the photo above.
The engraving between the statues reads: “Books are the precious life blood of master spirits embalmed and treasured up to a life beyond life”.
The Carnegie Center for Art & History located on 201 East Spring Street, New Albany, IN. This is the Bank Street entrance. The center hosts art exhibits and is a division of the New Albany-Floyd County Library.